Dr.Vykunta Raju K.N. Pediatric Neurologist Bangalore

Current

Consultant Child Neurologist at Bangalore Child Neurology and Rehabilitation Center, Vijayanagar, Bangalore and Assistnat Professor of Paediatric Neurology at Indira Gandhi Institute of Child Health, Bangalore

Past

Assistant Professor of Paediatrics at PES Medical College, Kuppam

Registrar at Sagar Apollo Hospital, Bangalore

Senior and Junior Resident at Indira Gandhi Institute of Child Health, Bangalore

Education

DM in Paediatric Neurology at All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi

PGD-DN-Post graduate Diploma in Developmental Neurology from Child Development Centre (CDC), Trivandrum, Kerala

DNB in Paediatrics from Indira Gandhi Institute of Child Health (IGICH), Bangalore

MNAMS in Paediatrics from National Board of Examinations –NBE-New Delhi

DCH from Bangalore Medical College and Research Institute (BMCRI), Bangalore

MBBS from Bangalore Medical College and Research Institute (BMCRI), Bangalore

I have been in field of Paediatrics since 2000 after my graduation-MBBS from Bangalore Medical College. I completed DCH from Bangalore Medical College, Bangalore and subsequently DNB from Indira Gandhi Institute of Child Health. I did my Post Graduation Diploma in Developmental Neurology-PGD-DN from Child Development Centre (CDC) Trivandrum-Kerala and DM in Paediatric Neurology from All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi. I worked as Senior Registrar at Indira Gandhi Institute of Child Health, Bangalore. I was in PES Medical College as Assistant Professor of Paediatrics. I have been with Sagar Apollo Hospital (now Sagar Hospital) as Paediatric Registrar. I have been working in Paediatric Neurology from the year 2005.My aim is to continue practicing Paediatric Neurology with special interest in Paediatric Epilepsy and Dietary management of Epilepsy and involving myself in Child Health Services in community as I get opportunity.

Specialties

Paediatrics, Paediatric Neurology, Developmental Neurology, Epilepsy, Ketogenic Diet

Experience

I am a Consultant Paediatric Neurologist working at BGS Global Hospital. Working as Honorary consultant of Paediatric Neurology at Indira Gandhi Institute of Child Health on Wednesdays afternoon.

Assistant Prof of Paediatrics at PES Medical College Kuppam

Registrar of Paediatrics at Sagar Apollo Hospital, Bangalore

Senior Resident, Paediatrics at Indira Gandhi Institute of Child Health, Bangalore.

Education

All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi

DM in Paediatric Neurology

Worked in Prestigious Medical Institute of India. Fortunate to work with Prof Veena Kalra. Actively involved in patient care, research and teaching.

Child Development Centre, Trivandrum

PGD-DM-Post Graduate Diploma in Developmental Neurology

Great experience to learn development of children from Dr MKC Nair

Indira Gandhi Institute of Child Health, Bangalore.

DNB (Paediatrics)

Worked in a tertiary care children hospital Fortunate enough to be associated with great teachers and Paediatricians like Dr DG Benakappa and Prof Shivananda. Enjoyed treating and helping children and there dear ones.

Activities and Societies: Participated in medical camps at Kanakapura, Channapatna etc.

Bangalore Medical College, Bangalore and Research Institute

DCH Paediatrics

Bangalore Medical College, Bangalore and Research Institute

MBBS-Medicine

Had an opportunity to study and work in one of the premier medical institutes of India, gaining abundant exposure to clinical material and true picture of health status among classes.

Top of Form

About Vykuntaraju

I completed my MBBS and DCH from Bangalore Medical College (BMC). After Post graduation I worked as a Senior Resident in Department of Pediatrics at Indira Gandhi Institute of Child Health, had completed DNB in Pediatrics from same institute. I did Post Graduate Diploma in Developmental Neurology-PGD-DN from Child Development Center (CDC), Trivandrum Kerala. I worked as Registrar in Pediatrics at Sagar Apollo hospital, Bangalore. I worked as Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at PES Medical College, Kuppam. I completed my DM Pediatric Neurology from All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi. I joined BGS Global Hospital as a Consultant Pediatric Neurologist in 2010. Currently Iam working as Associate Professor of Pediatric neurology at Indira Gandhi Institute of Child Health, Bangalore. I have many national and international publications for my credit. I have vast experience in treating refractory epilepsy with Ketogenic diet and other dietary regimens. My special interests are Epilepsy, Developmental Neurology, Neurometabolic and Neurodegenerative disorders, infectious and inflammatory conditions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Dr.Vykunta Raju K.N. Pediatric Neurologist Bangalore

  1. sajath kumar says:

    i am looking for a treatment of ” Partial agenisis of corpus collasium ” for my new born baby just 15 days old. kindly give your contact details, sajathkumar@gmail.com

  2. Shereene says:

    Sir,
    My All India rank is UR345 and I am a resident of Kerala,however I am interested to get a Pediatrics seat in Bangalore.I am interested to check about IGICH Bangalore for Pediatrics PG. I came to know that you are actively involved in Pediatrics dept in IGICH.I would need help from you regarding my Pediatrics PG seat selection, whether to select the seat in BMC or IGICH. Please guide me. Drop me a mail with your comments on drshereed@yahoo.co.in or provide me your contact details at the same email.

    Thanking you in advance
    Dr Shereene

    • drknvraju says:

      Hello Dr Shereene
      Thanks for asking my advice.
      Actually Iam looking after only pediatric neurology not general pediatrics.
      There are some advantages of IGICH over BMC
      Emergency and ICU care much better than BMC
      Superspeciality facilities are better compare to other institutes
      As it is referral hospital, we will get much complicated and rare interesting cases
      Currently I feel quality of teaching is better at IGICH, because of Professor Shivananda, however he will going to retire in one year.

      BMC better than IGICH because of
      UG Teaching
      OBG department

      U can take your final decision.

      Thanks
      with Best Wishes
      Dr.Vykunta Raju K.N. DM in Pediatric Neurology (AIIMS-New Delhi),
      Assistant Professor of pediatric Neurology,
      Indira Gandhi Institute of Child Health, Bangalore
      E-mail: drknvraju@yahoo.co.in,drknvraju08@gmail.com,drknvraju@hotmail.com
      Phone No: +91.9535212556

  3. Imthiyaz says:

    Hi Sir,

    My name is imthiaz and and from bangalore.

    My wife had a forcep delivery 2 months back which caused some problem with by baby’s right hand nerve or might be @ shoulder’s nerve.
    She is not able to pick her right hand upwards and always putting in downward bending position.
    we have shown baby to some orthopedist and nerologist, they asked us to go with physiotherapy exercises.
    We are currently doing physiotherapy exercices but the hand position is same.
    Worried a lot and needed ur help in this.
    I could have called you and take an appointment , but my wife and daughter are there in A.p in their native. So i thought i could have your opinion on this in solving this porblem.
    Please help us with your valuable suggestions.
    Thanks a lot in advance sir.

  4. aminath says:

    My 3yr old son had 2 episodes of jitteriness (lasting less than a second) when fever spiked 40 degree celcius.This is the second time it happened. Our peidtricians are unsure whether it was a seizure or not. There was no post ictal phase.He was on treatment for ASOM at the time.He was treated with diazepam then. I would like to know whether this is a seizure or not? Thankyou

  5. Uthraa says:

    HI Dr. My name is Uthraa and I live in Bangalore. My son is 4 years now. He was a premature baby with 1.7 kgs birth weight. Was on ventilator for 4 days. Did not have birth cry. He had delayed milestones from the very beginning. In short, in all mental aspects he is absolutely perfect. No issues. But physically, he is still not a 4 year old. Quality of walking is very average, no jumping, running yet.. has lot of balancing issues. Also he has a squint on his right eye.. We are taking physiotheraphy continuously but the improvement is slow.. need your consultation .. can you please let us know how and when can we meet you for a consultation?

  6. Santhosh Raviendranath says:

    Dear Doctor,
    My son is having issues in concentrating and unable to answer to questions that he knows.
    He is bright student however, his teachers and we also find it hard to get him to concentrate.
    We changed LKG school once because of this and sending him to a place school now, we have taken admission in a new school now for July 1st STD.
    We noted nowadays that he looks upwards and rols his eyes randomly in the direction of ceiling- when we ask him some familiar questions.Some teachers are saying it is best we consult a doctor to find out….
    Could this be something related Neuro issues?
    My Son just has completed 5 years….
    I am in Bangalore, Kasthuri Nagar( Near KR puram and indirangar) , Request politely to let me know if you are practicing somewhere nearby with timings etc to visit you.

  7. Dr.Shwetha PC says:

    Hello sir,
    Myself Dr.Shwetha P C completing my postgraduation in PHYSIOLOGY. I want to continue to do Neurology. So, can you suggest me how to proceed further after physiology.M awaited for your reply.

    • drknvraju says:

      Dr Shwetha
      As per my knowledge no fellowship course in neurology is there in India after Physiology.

      • Dr.Shwetha PC says:

        Thank you for responding sir. Sir will you please guide me how to proceed further in physiology. I want to do super specialization or any studies involving clinical aspect.

  8. Lalitha Thyagarajan says:

    Hello Dr.
    My name is Lalitha and my son who is 12 years is been having epilepsy (absent seizure )(petit mal) problem for past 2 years.we have been visiting neurologist and doing his regular EEG.Currently he is on Valparin chrono (300mg/500 mg) and topirol 25/50 mg.morning and evening doses respectively.His seizures are controlled but i am worried he is gaining weight.Can ketogenic diet help him?I would like to meet you and show my son.May i know which hospitals do you visit.I live in Marathahalli near HAL.
    Kindly seek your opinion
    thank you

  9. A.S.R.C. Kumar says:

    sir, my name is kumar from kakinada,a.p my daughter aged 7 years is M.R.child since last two years she suddenly falling down i have contacted local pediatrician he prescribed Encorate chrono 200(sodium valporate valproic acid), and clona zepam we are using the tablets but no use
    suggest me

  10. Veena Kunthe says:

    Sir,
    I am veena kunthe from Hospet. My daughter is two & half years old. She is having seizures . I had preeclamsia during delivery & baby did not cry immediately. She is on following medication. Valparin 4ml twice daily,Levipil 2ml twice daily, frisium 5mg half tablet twice daily, zonegran100mg 1/8 in morning & 1/4 night. She has delayed milestone .she does not walk . I am worried about her development.Please advice.

    Regards,
    CA. Veena Kunthe
    Hospet

  11. Anish Nair says:

    Hello Dr.Vykunta Raju,

    My son who is 7 yrs old and seems to be suffering from Ticks/Tourette Syndrome. He is making involuntary facial movements. He stretches his neck upward and returns to normal.I started noticing since over a year now. I initially thought he must be doing due to some throat irritation, but now it has become frequent. He does it every 30 sec to 1 min. Please advise as a parent what should i be doing. I m based in Kuwait and finding a Pediatric Neurologist in Kuwait is very difficult. We are worried and fear if he will get over conscious about this and may get depressed. Is there any tests that you recommend. I read on internet about Magnesium deficiency? Could this be the possibility?

  12. Shabeer 9591987280 says:

    Hi Doctor,

    I am shabeer working in Bangalore. My second son (1.7 years) had siezure at his 4th month after 3rd dose of DPT vaccination. after that we had been treating many doctors and his siezure is not controlling.

    he gets siezure with & with out fever, last 10 month we had been under one doctor Dr, Taranath shetty, pediatric nerologist from st philominas hospital.

    we have done 3 EEGs, MRI, CSF, TMS and many other blood test and all the reports were normal.

    he had been under the following medicine last 1 year.
    valparin 200 ( 1 – 0 – 1 )
    keppra 3ml – 0 – 3ml
    gardinal30mg (45mg per day at bed time)

    since medicine is not controlling his medicine recently doctor added one more medicine named topamac and told will remove keppra by reducing dose to 1ml with in 4 weeks and gradually remove all other medicine and put him ketogenic diet.

    doctor is telling its come through geans because my wife’s sister had epilepsy in her child hood.

    what do u suggest doctor.

    my pediatrician Dr Krishana moorthy from Zion hospital Kammanahalli refered your name now and was searching your name in net and got this.

    please help.

  13. Jay Chariya says:

    Hello Sir.. Myself Dr jay chariya from Gujarat.. I hv completed my DCH from gujarat… I am interested in pediatric Neurology so please suggest how can I get fellowship in pediatric neurology…

  14. Jay Chariya says:

    Hello Sir.. Myself Dr jay chariya from Gujarat.. I hv completed my DCH from gujarat… I am interested in pediatric Neurology so please suggest me how can I get fellowship in pediatric neurology …. is there any fellowship in your hospital ?? plz help me sir… Thank u

  15. gyan sharan says:

    Dear sir

    I am looking for treatment of my 9 months old child.His right leg and hand movement is less compare to left.He is not able to sit.

    I met with pediatrician  and as per his suggestion went for MRI scan on 25th April.You can find MRI report as an attachment.The opinion of MRI is mention below

    1)Left cerebral peduncle attrophy with T2/FLAIR hyper intensities suggestive wallerian degeneration.

    2)Approx 3.5* 2.7 cm size CSF signal intensity lesion seen in the left temporal lobe region suggestive of arachnoid cyst.

    Kindly give your valuable comment after reading his MRI report.As doctor  has suggested to go for surgery as he has clonic sizzure.my concern is that whether it is ok to go for surgery or not at this age.

    He has this problem by birth as suggested by doctors here.

    My humble request is to guide me for best line of treatment for him.

    Please give your valuable suggestion.

    With regards
    Gyan

  16. soja says:

    Hi Doctor,

    My name is Soja, basically from Kerala living in Bangalore. My daughter is 2 year 3 months but has not started speaking yet. All her other milestones were on time. We have conducted OAE test and it is normal. She is partially(selectively) responding to our conversation. She never sit and listen to what we talk to her. She is physically very active. She has an elder brother who is very talkative. But she never responds to him also. the only word she says meaningfully is ‘tata’ when she/someone else goes out. She produces some noices like amma n all but doesnt call me amma.
    My daughter is very much attached to me, seems not so interested in others in the family. Sometimes she plays with her brother, but mostly plays alone. She likes to watch animation movies but no other programs on tv. She is bit adamant at times. But does no harm to others like biting or hitting. I am a working mom and she stays with a maid in daytime (maid speaks malayalam same as our mother toungue). And my daughter seems to be happy with her.

    Our pediatrician suggested that she is little hyperactive with speech delay. The doctor told her eye contact and motor skills are excellent. She advised us to take her to a Speech therapist.

    I am double minded as my husband wants to do a BERA test to confirm hearing ability (whether she can hear all frequencies). She has basic hearing and responds to calling her name and other noises. But selective on responding. So I am worried whether she has any behavioral issues which needs treatment or speech therapy should work perfectly.

    It would be great if you can guide us what to do. Also, please suggest a good speech therapy center near Indiranagar(where we stay).

    Thanks for your help.
    Soja

  17. Dr. Arifur Rahman says:

    Sir, Sir/Madam,

    With due respect, I am a Pediatrician, working as M&HO-I ( Medical and Health officer), under Govt of Assam, India. I have done my Post greaduation in Pediatrics.

    I am interested for the course of ” FELLOWSHIP IN PEDIATRIC NEUROLOGY and epilepsy” in your instituation.

    Thanking u

    Dr. Arifur Rahman MBBS ( DU ), D. Peads ( SSUHS)
    Assam, India
    +919435022837

  18. Varsha patel says:

    Hello sir,

    My name is Dr. varsha patel, my daughter is 21 month old. She had history of mild gastroenteritis since 3 days and all of a sudden she got generalised clonic tonic convulsion last week 3 episodes at 1 hr interval on the same day. We checked RBS at that time and it was 67 at that time. All the routine blood, urine and stool we have done. There was nothing significant in the report. RBS was 70, sodium was 134, potassium was 4.4, calcium was 8.9 and Magnasium was 1.81 at that time. So Pediatrician suggested MRI, CSF and EEG later. even those reports are normal. Later loose motion (2-3 watery stool) was already there and along with that she got fever (99.5 to 100.5) for 2 days and after that she is fine.

    Right now my daughter is on Leveteracetum 10 mg/kg (doctor has prescirbed initially 50/kg BD and then later 25mg/kg since she was not aware that 1 ml contains 100mg. She was in assumption that each 5 ml contains 100mg, she dint double check it and just like that pediatric neurologist priscribed at Columbia asia hospital. We had very bad experience with that).

    It would be great if you can guide us what to do now. I stay in whitefiled, bangalore.

    • drknvraju says:

      If already given and no problems like drowsiness. You can give correct dose now onwards

      • Varsha patel says:

        ok i will do that. Thank you so much for your response.
        Since all the reports are normal, can you please guide that what could be the possible reason for seizures? can it be some kind of viral infection? like Rota virus or something. She has already taken Rota virus vaccine.

  19. Ramesh C says:

    Dear Sir,

    I am Ramesh C. I have mild pain in my left leg and hand for past 1-5 year.
    I dont know why this problem started. I want to over come with this problem.
    Is this a serious problem which may lead in to major issues?
    Is it a neurological problem and orthopedic problem?

    Regards
    Ramesh C

  20. Tejash Tarun says:

    Hello Sir,

    I live in Bangalore. My nephew aged around 5 yrs has developed some pain in his neck which forces him to bend his neck always. This is the case from Jan 2015. My nephew is in Delhi and seen lots of doctors there. Largely, from a range of diagnosis and treatment suggested, diagnosis is of dystonia, however there is no visible recovery even after prescribed treatment. Now they are coming to Bangalore to start treatment here. I stay in Old Airport Road. How and fro where can I get your appointment ?

  21. Uthraa says:

    HI Sir, my name is Uthraa and I have a 6 year old son named Bhavish. I had met you regarding him a couple of years back. He is a 33 week born and had delayed mile stones. currently I see him getting arrogant day by day and off late he has started the habit of beating and hitting others for no reason. He is kind of developing pleasure in beating others. Is there a way to treat him? I heard that you were about to set up a Child development center. Could you please let me know further details on this and how to counsel and treat him? Thanks in advance.

  22. drknvraju says:

    If it is causing problems, we need to consider medicines based on severity
    If you are staying in Bangalore You can meet at
    Bangalore Child Neurology and Rehabilitation center
    For Appointments you can call 080-23301212 after 11am.

  23. DIvya says:

    Hello sir,
    I’m Divya from Kerala. My nephew aged 2years is suffering from SMA Type II. Could you please let me know if there is any treatment for SMA and if there is any possibility that I can make my child walk like any other normal kid. Waiting for your kind reply.

  24. Chitra says:

    Hi Doctor,
    Could you please let me what are the treatment options for Parry Romberg Syndrom and if there are any doctors in Mumbai who have a good knowledge of the disease and who I can consult to know more about this disease.
    Thanks in advance.

    • drknvraju says:

      You contact rheumatologist in Mumbai. They will consider if requires immunomodulator drugs.

      • Chitra says:

        Thanks doctor. From the information I’ve gather through internet I feel my sister is suffering from Parry Romberg but it is difficult to say that with certainty unless a doctor confirms it. The problem in Mumbai is that no doctor seems to be aware of this issue – We had consulted a Reumatologist few days back but she said that it’s nothing, while the symptoms are increasing day by day (apart from this we have also consulted many other neurologists and dermaetologits)
        It wil be really helpful if you can suggest a Reumatologist in Mumbai who is aware of this disease.
        Else, please let me know if it would be possible to consult with you over the phone – we can come to Bangalore sometime in January for in person consultation.
        For your reference – I had written a detailed email to you on 20th October.

        Would really appreciate your help on this. Thanks once again.

  25. Dr DEVANG PANDYA says:

    Hi Good Evening Sir.
    Myself Dr DEVANG PANDYA from Gujarat. I have finished my DCH from KIMS BANGALORE in 2013. I am interested to proceed further in pediatric neurology field. kindly guide me…..
    Sir we had conversation twice regarding patients when I was in residency in Kims Bangalore. Best Regards……

  26. Mahesh kumar says:

    Hi sir,
    This is Mahesh here. This is regarding my 1.5 months Old Son. One month back, i.e on 15-10-15, we had visited Dr. Prabhakar Murthy(Veturi polyclinic, Rajarajeshwarinagar) for General Check up. At the time of examination, Doctor noticed that, there was “1 episode of mild urpolling of eyeballs”. And told us to review with you, if there is a repeat episode. Since that day, we havent noticed anything. So plz tell us, what need to be done further.

    Awaiting for ur early reply.

  27. jhansi says:

    Dear sir,
    My daughter is 6.5yrs old, we stay in whitefield Bangalore,from past 3 weeks she was complaining headache 4 to 5 days once,but it used to stay for maximum 1 hour I was not providing any medication at that time. From 24th Nov 2015 she started complaining more took her to the pediatric she has suggested for vision check her eye sight is normal after the checkup, she has suggested calpol and ibugesic syrup for pain relief and steam inhalation if there is any sinusitis. If it gets worsen she has suggested for CT scan and to consult pediatric neurologist. Right now scenario is she is still feeling headache above the eyebrow line when ever we ask her she still says she has headache. Not able to understand what is her problem , Is CT scan advisible for kids at this age group. She is active child she doesn’t have any medical issues from her childhood. As of now only headache concerns her no fever cold cough eats normally she is playing normally.
    Pls help us with ur valuable suggestions

  28. Sneha says:

    My daughter is 15 months old and still not walking. However she walks with support but not alone. I consulted general pediatrician and he said it’s all fine. But I am still worried. Whom should I consult for proper check-up?

  29. Amitha says:

    Hello doctor,
    I have inherited nuero fibromyalgia from my father. It’s non malignant. I have a son who is 8 months old. What are the signs that I would need to look out for to see if the condition has been passed on to him. My brother had a nodule on his optic nerve which caused lot of issues for him. Would you be able to help.

    With regards,
    Amitha

  30. drknvraju says:

    You can consult with prior appoint. Call 08023301212 between 11 AM to 9 PM

  31. Vishy says:

    Hi Dr,

    I have sent a mail to you regarding the problem i am currently facing. Could you please answer to that as i am living outside India.

    Thanks In Advance,
    Vishnu

Leave a comment